Super Randonnée Pyrenees – the short version

014
Standard

I did it!

There will not be a full blog report on this ride for a little while.  As I was the first British rider to attempt one of these rides, I hope to drum up some interest in tackling these adventures with an article in Arrivée (the AUK quarterly magazine).  If that gets published, I will put up a copy here.

The short version is that it was an amazing adventure (involving striking baggage handlers trying to spoil the trip).  I rode so many legendary climbs and many less-travelled ones (that were in many ways more enjoyable).

These rides are a significant test.  The first day was one of the hardest I have ever had on a bike.  I climbed around 6700 metres in only 190km!  It hurt.

Very chuffed to have completed the ride.

Here are a couple of photos of the two climbs that bookend the ride:

Image

Image,

2 thoughts on “Super Randonnée Pyrenees – the short version

Leave a Reply

